I Must!

If you are like me, you love to sit near a campfire. To stare into the flames. To watch all the different shapes formed by the tongues of fire…shapes that only last a fraction of a second…then to watch them transform into something new and unique. To soak in the warmth radiating out of the brilliant flames of orange and yellow and red. To be amazed at the power that is being slowly unleashed from the fuel right before your eyes.

It is nearly impossible to pull myself away. Always looking for more wood to throw onto the pile to keep the fire going. Hating to douse the coals and walk away to crawl into a sleeping bag only when it finally is the absolute last minute I can stand to stay awake.

The power of the flame intrigues me.

The power to allow the mind to be led away by the shapes and colors and heat and power…and to begin to contemplate the bigger things of your life. What am I here for? Who am I here to be? Why has my life turned out like this? When will I figure it all out? Who am I here to impact in a positive way? How will I do that?

It seems that the answers to those types of questions live in a burst-transform-burst type of cycle in our lives. I have some things that I know beyond a shadow of a doubt that I am “here for” on this earth. Some have been temporarily laid aside in the former forms they took, but I’m convinced that they are not gone for good and that one day they will – must – be taken up again. In what form, I don’t know, but unquestioningly they must be done. God has given me some very specific abilities that I must use to make this world a better place. I have a passion to give of myself. To work for the betterment of others. To be a helping hand…a strong shoulder…a safe ear…a warm embrace…a strong support. Whatever.

I Must!

You see, I believe this: It’s not about me. My life is not about me. My life is about living with a burning passion to the point that others will gather to the warmth of my spirit…to the authenticity of my life…to my unconditional love…to what it looks like to be an extraordinarily decent human being. To help someone else get through the tough journey called “life.”

The tricky thing with a properly controlled and helpful fire is knowing the right type of fuel to add, and right amount to add, and the right time to add it.

Most of the time when I contemplate these things, I’m looking for the next grand adventure in my life. Fact of the matter is – I’m living it right now! All the people who I need to touch in those ways for this time of my life are already in my life!

No time to waste just staring into the flames.

Throw another log on the fire and let’s get to it!

-Trevor

5 thoughts on “I Must!

  1. Since time immemorial, man has sought a means to control fire. Man’s inner flame burns much alike a fire and is nonexistent without all three parts. This log you speak of is fuel. Yes a big, bright flame can warm all of those around it, but beware: too large a fire can get out of control and those unable to contain it could get burned. One log at a time. Fuel the fire. Fan the flame. Enjoy it’s true warmth.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Life in a cocoon Trevor wrote a great post about what we may live life to do. How we can live life. | Scotties Toy Box

Leave a Reply

