Crappy Cliches

I’ve been around the church all my life. If anyone has heard their fill of churchy clichés, it’s me. They drive me crazy! They have little true meaning, can be hurtful, ignorant, or abusive, and they make Christians look like fools.

Cliché – a trite, stereotyped expression; a sentence or phrase, usually expressing a popular or common thought or idea, that has lost originality, ingenuity, and impact by long overuse. (www.dictionary.reference.com).

So…here’s a (short) list. Feel free to suggest your own! 🙂

“Heaven must have needed another angel” – when a young person dies. Really??

“Everything happens for a reason” – so…that’s what you have to offer the victim of abuse?

Any “at least” statement – like at the death of a loved one: “Well, at least he didn’t suffer.” You gotta be kidding me…!

“It must be the Lord’s will.” Why don’t you just admit you don’t have any idea…don’t make it out to be God’s fault.

“God is in control” – yeah, you hope.

“I’ll be praying for you” – yeah, right.

“He/she is in a better place” – how do you know that?

“God never gives us more than we can handle” – then He’s got me confused with someone else!

“When God shuts a door He opens a window” – huh??

“God told me…” – yeah, well He told me something different.

“I guess it was his/her time” – oh, that’s real comforting!

“Prayer works” – except when it doesn’t.

“The family that prays together stays together” – except when they don’t.

And my all time favorite cliché –

“God loves you and has a wonderful plan for your life” – which goes to what I call the church’s expertise at bait-and-switch, because life sucks a whole hell of a lot of the time, Christian or not.

I really could go on and on….

These really need no explanation…the absurdity stands on its own.

-Trevor

4 thoughts on “Crappy Cliches

  1. Hehe! You have covered a lot of it. When I went to Texas to university, I somehow ended up at Baptist university and there were so many people who wanted to convert me to Christianity. So I would get a lot of “God loves you” and “Only Jesus can save you” from everyone in classrooms, dorm hall and cafeteria. They made me feel like as if I was hell bound and doomed to eternal damnation.

    I agree that most times, others sound insensitive when they spurt such words– they may mean well, but it can be hurtful to others. For example, my father is really sick nowadays and I have relatives tell me that “God is in control” and “Everything happens for a reason.” They are not exactly what I want to hear but that’s how it goes.

    It’s a relief to know that while we are in different countries and culture, there are some similari human traits. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Instead of being cynical of the Church (and remember, that’s the bride of Christ), try offering alternatives of what to say. Sure, we have all said dumb things in hard times, but we also need to look at the heart of the person trying to offer comfort. I’ve had people say dumb stuff to me during trying times and I am comforted in just knowing they care. Food for thought….

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

