Waking Up

Have you ever felt blocked? I’m not talking about writer’s block.

This morning I woke up after nine hours of sleep. Now on one hand, that’s a good thing. I was really tired, and I rested well. But on the other hand, it’s really rare for me to need more than 7 hours of sleep at night. I can even take a 10 minute nap and feel refreshed. I’m sure I’m not that unusual from many of you…for others, 7 hours of sleep is just getting started.

So, now I’m sitting on the couch in the TV room and trying to wake up. But I’ve got this …block…haziness…fog. Blah. I’m thinking about what I have on my to-do list today, tomorrow, next month.

I need more coffee.

In a way, my life feels the same way. I’ve been sleeping for decades. Over the last couple of years I’ve been slowly waking up. In many ways I’ve got this haziness and fog about my current journey. I previously wrote about this in “Numb.”

What I need is some “juice” to get me going.

And not just to get me through the day. I need a dream for 1, 3, 5, 10 years from now. The one thing to make my life feel entirely fulfilled.

I love my family, I enjoy my work…this is something different.

Where does a 49-year old husband, father, grandfather go to build a dream?

-Trevor

Leave a Reply

